My First UK XC! Monks Down to Pimperne

Saturday 12th June 2010

A day of two halves for sure. The morning was cold and the wind was strong and gusty. I had a couple of flights but it wasn’t very nice and you found yourself going backwards at times.

After lunch the wind dropped somewhat and I launched at what looked like the end of a cycle (typical). Instead I found myself in some decent lift and got above the trees and started to 360 in it. Before I knew it I was at cloudbase and become untethered from the hill! I decided it would be a good plan to follow a pilot ahead of me as he looked like he knew what he was doing. Big mistake as he was clearly better than me and I kept leaving lift to keep up with him rather than topping up on each climb. This put me very low over Pimperne, where I found a likely looking field and landed. Forgot to turn the GPS on so I had to use my phone to work out the distance (a massive 13km! I even entered it in the league). I’m over the moon and can’t wait to do my next cross country, I know I can go further next time…

Richard

Leave a Reply

